DOCTOR WHO BOOK REVIEWS

I’m going to review some books that I was fortunate enough to stumble upon in a comic book store I visit from time to time. It’s not my normal comic book store that I get the majority of my stuff from but when ever I find a new store, especially one so close to me, I like to get something there once in a while just to support comic book stores in general. I’m a huge Doctor Who fan, so imagine my surprise when I found these little BBC BOOKS of Doctor Who. They are roughly the size of you hand, maybe a tad bigger, and hardback and about 250 pages or so.

They are a semi quick read and have the 10th Doctor’s character as played by David Tennant down pat. I’ve bought nine within three visits. So far I have read FOREVER AUTUM, WETWORLD, STING OF THE ZYGONS, THE PRICE OF PARADISE, NIGHTMARE OF BLACK ISLAND, and PEACEMAKER. I have not been disappointed yet. They have been great little reads and I discovered them right after the season finale so that was perfect timing for me. I still have WISHING WELL, WOODEN HEART, and THE DEVIANT STRAIN to read. The books go back and forth using the companions Rose and Martha. The DEVIANT STRAIN features the 9th Doctor as portrayed by Christopher Eccleston. I bought up the David Tennant books up first because I really like the way his Doctor is. I like Christopher Eccleston too, but some of the books got bought in between my visits so I’m glad I got as many David Tennant ones as I did. The last three I got were the last ones in the store and I don’t know if he will be getting any more. I can”t wait to read the others but I need to get some comics read in between the books. I actually got the new IDW trade paper back graphic novel of the first few Doctor Who Comic that they do. I’ve already read the stories in the monthly titles but couldn’t pass up having the graphic novel version. I’ve also been getting the collection of strips that appeared in the Doctor Who Magazines. My main comic book store has been finding them for me. I will have to look into getting the rest of the books. Maybe one or the other comic book stores I use will get them for me. I’d rather get them that way than off the internet.

If you’re a Doctor Who fan then you need to check out one of the comic strips that I do. It’s CAPN’ GEEZER of the Time Space Patrol. It’s at BUBBAWORLDCOMIX.NET . I have six titles that I do there but on Thursdays I update CAPN’ GEEZER. I have a full archive that you can check out too and catch up on the title. He was inspired by all of the cheesy SciFi that I grew up on. His arch nemesis, Major Evil, might remind you of the Master. Of course, Major Evil built his time machine out of a … wait for it….a PORT-O-POTTIE! It’s more than a little cramp but it gets the job done. Check it out if you have time. If you don’t have time….make some time. You’ll enjoy it.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

