COMIC BOOK STORE APPERANCES

Two stores in two weeks.  It was AWESOME! I’ll tell you what.

FREE COMIC BOOK DAY was May first.  It’s always on the first Saturday in May and I spent the entire day at HEROES & DREAMS in Flowood, MS.  There were a few of us artists there that day.  Myself of course, BUBBAWORLD COMIX.  T.D. Roebuck, Shane Henderson, Wade Acuff, Kevin Hayman (the ERRANT APPRENTICE), Jesse Labbe’ and Anthony Coffey were all there.  Some of us were promoting our books and all of us were doing sketches and sketch cards for the public.

The artist currently known as Chuck Jett spent the day with us too but didnt actually set up to draw.  Here he’s trying to capture someone’s soul.  The place was packed for most of the morning and then the crowd was still good but more managable after lunch time.  I took plenty of pictures of stuff Kevin drew but totally forgot to take any of what I was drawing.  I am the absent minded one at times.

Grand Master Josh was there and even someone turning in our pics to the empire.

It was a great time, I sold sketch cards and sketches and commissions and was very happy.  The store stayed open a little later than normal so I opted to go on home instead of going out to eat with everyone.  I do enjoy when I get to go out and eat with the guys.  I definitely will the next time.  It was an awesome day as it always is when I spend it at the HEROES & DREAMS in Flowood.  This is also the store that will be putting on the SOUTHERN FRIED COMIC CON in Jackson the last weekend of June of this year (2010) at the Cabot Lodge.  I will be in the Artist Alley both Saturday and Sunday.  Be sure to check it out.

The following Saturday I was in Meridian, MS at Crossfire Comics.

This was also an awesome weekend.  Some of the same folks were there with us and more.  Myself ( BUBBAWORLD COMIX ) and my partner on the MISFITS & MAYHEM horror graphic novel Shane Sullivan, T.D. Roebuck and Wade Acuff from the previous weekend.  James Powell and Oliver Twisted came up from the coast area along with Mitch Byrd and Steven Butler and Bryan King ( Neo-Earth ).  Chuck Jett was also there and was set up this time with his art and sketches.

Shane even got Steven Butler to draw him a Savage Sword of Sonic… in case you live in a cave and dont know, Steven is the artist for Sonic the Hedgehog comic book from Archie Comics…..and I just realized once again I forgot to take pictures of the things I was actually drawing.

…and of course there was the jam piece that all the artists contributed on.  Those are always fun to do.  We really need to do one for Heroes & Dreams at the convention in June.

Also I was interviewed by the local news in Meridian while at Crossfire Comics and you can see it here http://www.wtok.com/home/headlines/93209049.html

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

